Pele Tag

Dead Prez x Sault remix – Pele Durian Funk


Dead Prez classic remixed by DJ/Producer Pele Durian Funk w/ this new vibe UK band Sault is creating w/their focus on music. If the video gets taken down please go to Pele’s bandcamp to listen to a whole EP of remixes featuring different artists such as Mos Def, Erykah Badu, Bambu, and more all w/ flips of Sault
And please support Dead Prez and Sault by streaming and purchasing their music. 
Exclaimer, the remix is a vital part of not only hip hop culture, but of music and culture in general. Here’s a link of some other music I’ve been listening to a lot lately. HOUSE.

Pele/ Durian Funk 2 – Trust Your Struggle

Just completed the artwork for this mix by my brother Pele (TYS) based in the Philippines. His DJ project Durian Funk shares funky revolutionary music from The Philippines and the US mixed on two turntables. 
Cop it HERE

From Pele:

Trust Your Struggle | Volume One
This mix is dedicated to the world amidst these trying times. Especially, to all of those who are feeling unsure of what tomorrow may bring for our loved ones, ourselves and our communities.
I am right there with you fam and I hope this music can give you some sort of inspiration to help us all get through these uncertain times. Sending you nothing but love, strength and some funky, soulful medicine music. In solidarity from Mindanao, Philippines to where ever you are on this Planet Earth.
Trust (Y)our Struggle,
Pele Durian Funk
1. “We’ve Got Work To Do” – Tribe
2. “Think People” – Tribe
3. “We Know We Have To Live Together” –
Eugene Blacknell and the New Breed
4. “Concrete Jungle” – Little Beaver
5. “Waste Not Want Not” – Ken Haywood
6. “Suffer” – IFA Afrobeat & Okwei V Odili
7. “Our Generation” – Ernie Hines
8. “World” – 1619 Bad Ass Band
9. “Take A Look At Yourself” – Eddie Russ
10. “Rise Up” – Greenwood Rhythm Coalition
+Vocal Samples – Nina Simone, Amiri Baraka, Paul Robeson and Fela Kuti
11. “Zombie” – Fela Kuti and Afrika 70
12. “Upside Down” – Freedonia
13. “La Valla” – Bronx River Expressway
14. “Mr. Fortune” – The Hitchhikers
15. “Each One Teach One” – Kokolo
16. “Joyful Noise” – Breakestra
17. “Uhuru” – The Ramsey Lewis Trio
18. “We Ain’t Free” – Boscoe
19. “We The People” – The Soul Searchers
20. “No More” – The Lumpen
Cover Art by Robert “Tres” Trujillo
Recorded and mixed by Pele | Durian Funk Productions.
Mastered by Dion Decibels.
Much love and appreciation to all the musicians and bands played on this mix. Massive respect to all the original vinyl diggers worldwide keeping the music alive.
Special shout out to Robert Liu-Trujillo and my Trust Your Struggle fam. And big thanks to the homie Jay Gee.
If you would like to support |
Daghang salamat, many thanks.